August 28, 2013 Update: Governor Nixon signed new concealed carry laws into effect
Can I Openly Carry A Firearm in Missouri?
Yes, but it depends on local ordinances. Open carry is generally legal in Missouri, but cities and local governments within Missouri have the right to limit open carry. It is best to simply get a concealed carry license and carry your firearm concealed, which is legal state-wide in Missouri, except for a few places. (see this link)
Firearms in a Vehicle in Missouri?
You do not need a permit to carry a firearm in your vehicle while in Missouri. Even concealing a firearm on your person while in a vehicle is okay, as long as you don’t step outside of the car while concealing it. “Missouri now permits any person who is at least 19 years old to transport a concealable firearm in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle. No concealed carry endorsement is required. Under the old law, the peaceable journey exception to the unlawful-use-of-a-weapon law permitted travelers on a continuous peaceable journey to carry a concealed weapon. The peaceable journey exception is still in the law, and may apply in circumstances where the new law does not (i.e. if the person is less than 21 years old).” – (see this link)
What are the Local Ordinances?
Basically, local ordinances are a pain in the rear. They allow one city or community to outlaw the carrying of firearms openly, while the city 10 miles away legally allows it. The views of politicians in local government play a significant role in what is allowed and what is considered illegal for certain cities and municipalities. While concealed carry is a statewide law, open carrying in Missouri is left up to local governments. << If you live in Missouri, you’re better off just getting your concealed carry license and carrying that way. It will also save you a lot of grief when the police show up to Walmart and try to arrest you for legally openly carrying because someone reported a man with a gun.